directory/gallery/menu/1/ABT CU BNR2.jpg About CU - - Central University
directory/gallery/menu/1/ABT CU BNR2.jpg

About CU

Central University is an educational Initiative of the International Central Gospel Church (ICGC).

It has its origins in a short-term Pastoral training institute, which was started in October 1988 by ICGC. It was later incorporated, in June 1991 under the name, Central Bible College. In 1993, the name was changed again to Central Christian College. The College later upgraded its programmes to the baccalaureate level, and in line with national aspirations, expanded its programmes to include an integrated and practice oriented business school, named Central Business School.

To reflect its new status as a liberal arts tertiary institution, the university was re-christened Central University College in 1998. The National Accreditation Board has since accredited it as a tertiary Institution. It is co-educational with equal access for male and female enrolment. Central University has eight (8) faculties/schools, namely the Central Business School (CBS), the School of Architecture and Design (SADe), School of Graduate Studies (SGS), Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS), Faculty of Law(FOL), School of Pharmacy(SOP), School of Engineering and Technology (SET) and  the School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) 

In January 2016, the University College received the long awaited Presidential Charter to become an autonomous and a fully-fledged university as Central University.




1984 The International Central Gospel Church [ICGC] is founded by Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil

1988 The ICGC opens a ministerial institute to train a new generation of leaders

1991 Central Bible College is birthed from the success of the ICGC ministerial institute

1993 Central Bible College is incorporated as the Central Christian College

1997 Investiture of Rev. Dr. Mensa Otabil as Chancellor

Central Business School is commissioned

1998 Central Bible College is re-christened Central University College to reflect its new status as a liberal arts tertiary institution

Mr. Johnson Kanda is inducted as the first Registrar

Rev. Prof. Kingsley Larbi is appointed as the first Principal


2002 The Business Development Centre opens for business

2003 Development Directorate is carved from the pre-existing Project Office

2004 Prof. V.P. Y. Gadzekpo takes office as the second President

2006 Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences is established

2007 Quality Assurance Unit is launched

Vision & Legacy Unit is established

2008 School of Applied Sciences is commissioned and its flagship programme in Physician Assistantship Studies also started with the mandate to extend curative, emergency and preventive health care services to especially the rural and underserved areas of the country. Prior to the programme's inception at CU, it was run only as a certificate or diploma course providing training solely for the Ministry of Health in a Rural Health Training Institute.

2009 Mr. J. F. Odartey Blankson is appointed as the University’s second Registrar

Human Resources Directorate is created.

Centre for International Relations & Programmes is inaugurated

2011 School of Graduate Studies is established

William Ofori-Atta Institute of Integrity [WOAII] is instituted

The historic migration of the University from Mataheko to Miotso begins 2012

2012 Prof. Kwesi Yankah is appointed as the third President of the University

2013 Faculty of Law is inaugurated

Three lecture-series: Distinguished Speaker Series, Professorial Inaugural Lectures and Annual Colloquia are instituted.

CU’s Schools and Faculties commence the first Annual Colloquia Series

Prof. Adigun Agbaje begins the Distinguished Speaker Series with the topic “Electoral Politics and the Travails of Democracy” in Africa.

2014 The second and third lectures of the Distinguished Speakers Series are delivered by Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia and Prof.Kwesi Botchwey on the respective topics: “Restoring the Value of the Cedi” and “The State of the Nation’s Political Economy”.

The first Professorial Inaugural Lecture is given by Prof. Kwaku Appiah-Adu on the topic “A Framework for Oil & Gas Development in Ghana”.

The University receives the Socrates Award [Oxford] for Best University & Best Manager

2015 The Head of State Awards for Academic Excellence [Tertiary] is conferred on the University

2016 The University is awarded a Presidential Charter as a fully-fledged University

The Vice-Chancellor of the University, Prof. Kwesi Yankah is awarded Laureate for Education in Ghana by Impact Africa Summit.

2017 Prof Bill Buenar Puplampu is appointed Ag. Vice Chancellor

School of Pharmacy is established.

2021  The University awarded its first honorary Doctoral degrees (Honoris Causa) to three former members of the University Council

Home   |   About Us   |   Academics   |   Admission   |   Chaplaincy   |   Research   |   Publications   |   Library

Central University, Miotso near Dawhenya. 

Off the Accra - Aflao Road. 

P O Box 2305 Tema or P.O BOX DS 2310 Dansoman ,  Accra- Ghana -West Africa

 Admissions: +233 0307 020540 | +233 0303 318583 | +233 020 726 8263

 Main:  +233 0303 318580 | 030 7020545 (Miotso) | +233 0594081658 |+233 0302 313185 (Christ Temple) | +233 0302 396189 (Kumasi)

Whatsapp:   +233 023 331 3180  

Academic Verification requests:

Follow CU on Social Media

Sign-up to receive our newsletter

Write to us: